Facebook makes every user discoverable by name

Once again, Facebook is doing away with a feature that many users didn’t even know they could use, but a small, privacy-conscious minority is glad to have (had).

Almost a year ago, along with scrapping Facebook user voting on privacy policies, Facebook announced the removal of the “Who can look up your Timeline by name?” setting, and now the move is imminent.

As Facebook Chief Privacy Officer Michael Richter noted in a blog post, everyone used to have the aforementioned setting – which controlled whether you could be found when people typed your name into the Facebook search bar – but not a lot of people used it.

SOURCE: net-security.org